Meeting Register Page

This meeting is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
Inclusive Post-Secondary Education and Persons with Disabilities
Day 1: May 5, 12:30pm (PDT) / 3:30pm (EDT) / 7:30pm (UTC)
Day 2: May 6, 3am (PDT) / 6am (EDT) / 10am (UTC)
Article 24(5) of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) provides that "States Parties shall ensure that persons with disabilities are able to access general tertiary education, vocational training, adult education and lifelong learning without discrimination and on an equal basis with others. To this end, States Parties shall ensure that reasonable accommodation is provided to persons with disabilities." This conference provides an international, comparative, and interdisciplinary perspective on inclusive post-secondary education. People with disabilities occupy an important presence in post-secondary education. In many countries, rates of participation of persons with disabilities in such forms of education have been growing. Yet social research indicates that people with disabilities continue to encounter obstacles to accessing post-secondary education, as well as a lack of inclusion in the way such education is delivered. Although many states have legislation that prohibits discrimination on grounds of disability in post-secondary education, there is a need for further analysis of how those laws are put into practice. This conference explores the contribution of law and policy. It also looks at the lived experience of students with disabilities, as well as the role that academics and teachers play in bringing about change. We have assembled a truly international group of experts to share insights from a variety of jurisdictions in different continents. A number of themes will be addressed:
• The experience of applying non-discrimination / equality law and policy in post-secondary education;
• Empirical research on the experience of students with disabilities;
• Implementing change within higher education;
• Implementing policies on post-secondary vocational training.
Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: comparativeequalitycenter - berkeley.edu.